Word of the Week: Comparison

Beauty. Intelligence. Spirituality.

These are the main areas of my life that I have found that I compare to others. When I compare my attributes to others, it makes me feel insecure and unhappy.

“Better call Becky with the good hair.” The infamous lyrics from Beyonce’s song,”Sorry,” were rooted from comparison. Even pop culture’s most outwardly confident woman, struggles with comparing herself to other women. See how psychotherapist Vicki Tidwell Pamer elaborates on how we all have our own “Becky” in this Huffington Post article.

As Christian young women we need to ponder what does Christ say about comparison? My favorite verse  when feeling unconfident is 1 Samuel 16:7.

“… The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

Christ solely desires your heart and soul. He loves every part of you, but He craves for your heart to be consumed by Him. Once your heart is given to Him, the areas of your life that you feel unconfident in suddenly disappear. Yes, it is easier to say than to do, but here are techniques you can use so that your focus is transformed to Christ and not your insecurities

Praying

Whenever I feel unconfident, I give it all to God. Praying allows you to free your mind. I continually pray that God will give me the confidence to not only stop comparing myself but also give me the confidence that I can carry out His plan for my life.

Encouraging

We are all in this together as women. Encouraging one another to be our own unique, strong person  will make the world a better place. Joy is found in the happiness of others. You never know when a fellow sister in Christ is struggling, and your words just might be what they need to feel better. 

Journaling

Being completely vulnerable with yourself relieves stress, but also documents the growth of your spiritual journey. Knowing where you started is key to the process of becoming more confident as a young woman of Christ.

Growing confident in yourself will not happen overnight. You will have good and bad days, no matter how confident you are feeling in your skin. Life has a crazy way of doing that to us, but if you continue to practice on praying, encouraging, and journaling, your life and other women’s lives will be changed.

With love,

Kayleigh

Leave a comment