Word of the Week: TRUST

In the college world, it is far too easy to develop a mental plan of how our life should go.

1. Survive freshman year. 2. Meet a guy sophomore or junior year. 3. Get engaged senior year. 4. Graduate. 5. Land your dream job. 6. Get married. The list goes on. This mindset of how college life ought to go is dangerous. It has made me question things more times than I would like to admit.

“I want to graduate early. But not a lot of people do that. Should I still do that?”

“I feel like God is calling me to do this, but I don’t know anyone else who has done it. Is this really what I’m supposed to do?”

So many sweet girls fall into the trap of settling for less, and not following God’s plans for their life because they’re too afraid that they might stand out too much.

People might view them differently. They might talk about them behind their backs. Trust me. I’ve been there. I’ve felt all of those things. No one wants to be singled out. Most of us just want to blend in and enjoy the college experience.

But have you ever thought that you might be missing out on what God has for you because you’re far too worried about what others will think of you? I’ve learned the hard way after my plans have shattered that what I wanted for myself was not what the Lord wanted for me. I’ve had doors closed in my face, friends betray me, opportunities fall through, etc.

But you know what? All of those failures and disappointments have led me to the things that God truly wanted for me. God wants us to let go of expectations. He wants us to simply TRUST Him. Seek Him. Speak with Him. Listen to Him.

Sometimes it blows my mind why we fret over the things we do. God has known how our life will play out since the beginning of the world.

LET GO of what others expect of you.

LET GO of what you’re “supposed” to do.

LET GO of believing that your life has to go exactly like the girl next to you.

Your story is unique. Your life will look completely different than anyone else you know, so why try to blend in with everyone else?

TRUST the Lord. If He is calling you to do something, do it. Don’t be afraid to do something, just because it doesn’t follow the typical college time line.

Be willing to be different.

Be willing to go where the Lord calls you.

Be willing to do what He tells you.

Be willing to let go of what everyone else is doing.

Because when you do, you’ll be able to experience freedom and you’ll no longer find yourself bound to the expectations of those around you.

Much love,

Katie

Leave a Reply

