Word of the Week: Power of Prayer

Prayer is our own personal connection with the Creator of this universe. God allows us to express our gratitude, fears, and love simply by having a conversation with Him.

With every situation, positive or negative, I go to God in prayer. Whether I am needing comfort or giving thanks to Him, prayer is consistent in my walk with Christ.

The most positive result of prayer I have experienced was when I was deciding whether to continue on playing soccer after high school. Thoughts of doubt and insecurity were running through my head. I tried to fight through these thoughts by myself, but I continued to struggle.

Finally, I decided to go to the Lord in prayer about how I was doubting myself. Within one month, my prayers were answered. I was offered an athletic scholarship to a college that was what I had been searching for all along. Through prayer, God made my insecurity and doubts disappear, and He gave me something that exceeded my expectations.

If you are struggling with self-image issues, ask God for the answers. He will transform your thoughts into something that is powerful. He will give you the strength to believe in yourself.

Be honest with God. He already knows whatever you are struggling with, but voicing to Him your problems and doubts will change you. Giving it all up to Him in prayer shows that you trust Him to take care of you and transform you.

When you go to God in prayer, you also need to be humble. Do not assume that Christ will give you something just because you ask for it. Being humble in prayer is necessary.  He is our provider, but He gives us what we need when we need it.

Pray in community with other Christians. I have witnessed the true power of prayer whenever Christians are connected together by praying for the change and His intervention. Be open with others about what you are struggling with. They can not only support you, but they can also go to God in prayer.

“Our prayers may be awkward. Our attempts may be feeble. But since the power of prayer is in the One who hears it and not in the one who says it, our prayers do make a difference.”

– Max Lucado

Prayer is a powerful tool that we should be using daily. God gave us our own communication channel with Him. Simply have a conversation. Your words do not have to be eloquent for God to listen. He desires to have a relationship with you. Your relationship will only grow if you talk to Him. He will change your life if you simply talk to Him.

Leave a Reply

